1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zone system in Enlarging

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by John_K, Jan 30, 2007.

1. John_K

John_K Well-Known Member

I have just spent last night in the darkroom experimenting with the 'Zone'System' of gauging the correct exposure when making enlagements.
    It is so DAMN EASY, I don't know why I have never done so before after all I have know about it for years.

Out of 8 10x8 prints used as a experimental set, 7 were perfect and the 8th acceptable.

I took the scale of exposure times out of a book by Gene Nocon, a Canadian ethnic native and a teacher in the photographic process. I cannot get over how easy it is once you have got your mind around it, because when first looked at it isn't clear cut.

It works for colour as well as B&W. If you haven't tried it I recommend you do.

2. taxor

taxor Well-Known Member

Gene Nocon was also well known for advocating the 'F-stop' method of printing. I use to use a linear timing method myself, until I got me a RH designs stopclock pro, which measures increments of time in fractions of a stop. It becomes (after a short time) second-nature. Couple this with split-grade printing and you have an incredible degree of control over the final image.

3. John_K

John_K Well-Known Member

Sorry, I spotted my deliberate mistake. Of course I meant 'F' stop method of gauging enlarhing exposure times. Call it an age thing.

Never the less is is damn good. Going to have another go tomorrow. I have a tricky Infra Red that has never printed properly so I may have so luck with that

4. The Circle Of Confusion

The Circle Of Confusion Well-Known Member