1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Windows Photo gallery

Discussion in 'Digital Image Editing & Printing' started by Angela Mayne, Jun 29, 2020.

1. Angela Mayne

Angela Mayne Member

Hi does anyone use Windows photo gallery for editing and captioning please. I have been using it for a few years now and have over 18,000 pics all captioned and fully searchable from within the program. BUT since the new 2004 windows update I have had trouble with photo gallery, it lets me edit and caption but as soon as I go to save it says that the file cannot be saved because of problem with file properties. I know the program has not had updates for a few years, but it has always worked until just now. Anyone help, as I dont think the captions will transfer to another editing program. Thanks x

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi Angela,

Describing a 2004 windows update as new is a surprise! Photogallery has been discontinued for a while now. It is a nightmare when that happens. I search a bit to see if there is anything about exporting the database. Google throws up several links about installing it on Windows 10 but I never follow links like that - often leads to trouble.

3. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

SqueamishOssifrage likes this.
  4. EightBitTony

Lots of posts online with people having the same error since 2012, sometimes when trying to rotate the images.

Where are the images saved on your computer (which drive, directory)?
    Can you make other changes (like rotate them)?
    Can you edit them in other apps?

5. PeteRob