1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

What makes a lens fast?

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by Markdb, Feb 20, 2012.

1. Markdb

Markdb Active Member

Might be a daft question but I'm new to dSLR's so forgive me. I've seen lens's referred to as fast but what does that mean?

The reason I'm asking is that I took my camera to one of my daughters dance comps yesterday and I only have the standard canon 18-55mm kit lens that came with the camera. Not used to taking pics of people, and I tried various settings but still found it difficult to get decent photos. The lighting wasn't brilliant in the place and I was also not that close to the dancers. I'm thinking of buying a lens that would be up to the job but I've no idea of what to look for. Need something that can zoom in quite a bit and freeze the motion. I can post up some shots of what I came home with if it helps?

Mark

2. NosamLuap

NosamLuap Rebmem Roines

A fast lens is one with a wide aperture. The aperture on your kit lens is probably f/5.6 when zoomed in to 55mm. a "fast" 50mm lens might have a maximum aperture of f/1.8 or f/1.4. F/1.8 is just over three stops faster than f/5.6, which means for a given shutter speed it will let in over three times as much light (or, more usefully, it will let you use a shutter speed that's three times faster to avoid camera shake)

A tripod or monopod could also help. Also, subject to the nose handling of your camera you may be able to increase the ISO further, which makes the sensor more sensitive to light.