1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the Amateur Photographer magazine online community.

Why not create an account and take advantage of this free resource.

What M42 mount camera?

Discussion in 'Classic Models & Marques' started by chris_p, Mar 1, 2010.

1. chris_p

chris_p Member

Hi all

My first post here so, be gentle.

I'm fortunate to have been given (in that usual "you're into photography - do you want this?" way) a Zeiss 50mm f/2.8 lens in M42 mount. For the past few months I've been toying with the idea of buying an Olympus OM to play around with but now I'm wondering about something with an M42 thread to it.

I like the look of a Pentax Spotmatic but I've little (read as "no") experience with these cameras. Does anyone have any recommendations or tips on what to buy and what to avoid?

2. zx9

zx9 Well-Known Member

Hi Chris, welcome to the forum.
    If you just want to play with the Zeiss 50mm f/2.8 (Tessar?) could you not get an adapter to fit it to your current DSLR. If you want to use it on a film body, I don't see the point in getting an Olympus and adapter, I would go for a Spotmatic over many of the other M42 mount SLRs. That said the standard lens supplied with most M42 mount SLRs would have at the time been rated far higher than the second(?)cheapest Praktica standard lens.

3. Wheelu

Wheelu Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum!

Cosina made an M42 mount SLR in comparatively recent times, see here, but I would agree that it would hardly be worthwhile buying a camera for an old Zeiss Tessar (if that's what it is).

Possibly the cheapest solution would to get hold of a Zenit SLR, but, in that instance, be sure that your lens does not have an auto iris pin that will jam into a screw head on the lens mount. Been there and done that :eek: