1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What lenses would you pair with a Nikon D750?

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by TheIslander, Jan 20, 2021.

1. TheIslander

TheIslander New Member

Hello,
    Forum newbie here!
    I know the title question isn’t really an answerable one without knowing more, so I’ll fill you in and try my best not to make it an essay...

About to buy a Nikon D750 (upgrading heavily used, tired DX camera and lenses) and undecided whether to buy body only or with the 24-120mm f/4 and what else to get lens wise!

Budget of £3000 for camera/lenses - I don’t think I can buy used or grey market (to do with a grant I have access to which will ‘pay me back’ 50% and provider needs VAT info to claim back) awaiting confirmation on this but working on the assumption.

I am an enthusiast who makes a bit of pocket money so to speak, doing some photography for a few local businesses (very varied, has so far included clothing, food and interiors) and selling calendars, notecards etc which are landscapes!

If I went kit, I would probably add the Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5 (not too tempted by the 16-35 f/4 having spoken to people who’ve used both) and would LOVE to treat myself to the Sigma Art 50mm f/1.4 which I’ve had a crush on for ages!

If I didn’t go kit I would look at getting a 24-70 f/2.8 and wouldn’t feel the need to get a 50mm prime. Budget would mean I’d be going Tamron/Sigma and I’m not sure how I feel about that - great reviews and I know third party lenses have come a long way but I’ve not owned one before and also read that consistency/quality control isn’t great which makes me wonder if native f/4 or third party f/2.8 is better...

Anything I buy with assistance from the grant I can’t sell/trade/upgrade for three years, so I want to make sure I invest in the right glass!

Sorry, ended up being an essay anyway!