1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Camera???

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by strugglinstudent, Jan 19, 2001.

1. strugglinstudent

strugglinstudent New Member

Hello everybody I am a struggling college student who would care for some advice on what camera to get next, basically I have a Canon A1 and i am looking for info on the best autofocus slr's around/best price and if possible does anyone know about any really good and also cheap (like me) (i like to call it cost effective) Medium Format Options that provide really good quality pictures with out to much expense for when I go to Uni in a few months. Please help you guys and girls are my only hope. I lay down the challenge. Still struggling...

2. SLRGIRL

SLRGIRL New Member

u should go for pentax it's the best and u can get really good deals from jessops they even have good deals with all format cameras to . check it out.

sgirl

3. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

OK, first questions: Why go AF? What's wrong with your A1?
    Having got that out of the way, the next question is: Do you need Depth of Field Preview? If no, try a Pentax, if yes, then the Canon EOS 300. In any case, try these and other models in a shop to see which you prefer.
    The other option is to go second-hand - there are numerous bargains out there.
    As regards Medium Format, try looking for a s/h Rolleiflex/cord or Yashica 124 - pretty good quality, pretty cheap but non-interchangeable lenses. Will almost certainly produce better results than a 35mm SLR for the right subjects - budget for a hand-held meter though (or use your SLR) and a tripod.

4. BigWill

BigWill Gorgeous oversensitive Nikon-loving cream puff