1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Welcoming myself & seeking your introductions ;-)

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by BeyondIthaka, Oct 16, 2020.

1. BeyondIthaka

BeyondIthaka Member

Hi all,

I've just joined the forum. Driven to find solidarity by what has felt a more hostile public towards street photographers. I'm a social scientist by profession and amatuer documentary photographer/street photographer. I'd like to become better at every kind of photography but one stop at a time!

I have an Insta and Flickr account under the same name - BeyondIthaka.

I don't use Flickr much, should I?

Based in South West England. Happy to collaborate.

Cheers,
    Ithaka

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

What form does this hostility take?

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum. It has been very quiet on the “hostility to street” front. Some years ago now it was much more a hot topic. I’ve got an AP issued lens cloth somewhere printed with “photographer’s rights” which was the outcome of a campaign. Much depends on how you go about it. For me I generally try to avoid people in my pictures if I can and at most have them as incidental background. I hate being photographed on purpose and I can understand others feeling the same.

Flickr is what you make it.