1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Very very new please help

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by monkeys bunny, Jun 13, 2011.

1. monkeys bunny

monkeys bunny Well-Known Member

I hope this is in the correct place.

Im very new to the art of photography and have just acquired a Nikon D5100 with the 18-55 lens kit. I have been trying to take pictures of wildlife but this lens really doesn't have the distance i need. As i am a novice in the greatest sense of the word i do not want to spend thousands on lenses and have been looking on ebay etc. Could you tell me, do any Nikon Lenses fit this model?

Thank you for any help you can provide me at all to get me started

2. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

3. monkeys bunny

Thank you for that, i have taken a look see but cannot seem to find were it tells me what lenses fit the D5100. i really need to know if all Nikon Lenses fit this model and if any other makes do?

thank you for your time its greatly appreciated

Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  4. Fen

Fen Well-Known Member

The D5100 is exclusively designed for use with AF-S and AF-I NIKKOR lenses that are equipped with an autofocus motor.

So, any lens made by Nikon which has the letters "AF-S" or "AF-I" in the name.

Also, any third party lenses (for example Sigma or Tamron) that have a built in autofocus motor.

5. Barney

Barney Well-Known Member