1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very cheap Sony Alpha NP-FM500 batteries at Argos.

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by Roger_Provins, Feb 5, 2010.

1. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

2. john39

john39 Well-Known Member

thanks Rog was thinking of getting one but this made up my mind

3. Dorset_Mike

Dorset_Mike Grumpy Old Fart

Amazon have clones as low as £10.49, Slightly lower capacity, 1400mAH as against 1650mAH but ok for a back up. Also a twin pack of 1600mAH for £27.50.

4. Roger_Provins

I think I'd rather pay more and get an original item.

5. Dorset_Mike

I've been using clones in my Minolta 5D for about 3 years with no problems. Maybe get about 10% less shots per charge but I rarely shoot enough to discharge a battery in one outing, I also have a clone for my recently acquired A350, too soon to have a verdict on that insofar as number of shots per charge but it works fine.

I've never understood the philosophy of having to have the original manufacturers overpriced branded item when there is a perfectly satisfactory substitute at a considerable saving.

For example how can anybody justify the cost of a Minolta/Sony branded remote cable, usually £25-£40, when you can get a wireless remote which works up to 100M for about £12 - £15, or a Sony badged Tamron lens with about 50% mark up, OK I think one of them has an upgraded AF speed, for most people is that really worth a 50% or more price hike?

6. Roger_Provins

I don't disagree with you on some points but to spend 1900 quid on a camera body and then get cheap knock-off batteries (which could invalidate a guarantee) seems a little pointless. At 25 quid I really wouldn't start trying to find some even cheaper.

7. Mark

Mark Well-Known Member