1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"True" black and white prints

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Phobug, Sep 1, 2004.

1. Phobug

Phobug Well-Known Member

Now that I have a working Rolleiflex TLR, I can't find anyone who does real black and white process and print. My local camera shop's lab does real b&w 35mm prints (i.e. not scan and print and on black and white paper) but not rollfilm. I can only find one place that will take the rolls, a local Snappy Snaps, but they want a hair shy of 30 quid per roll of 12 exposures. That's just too expensive for me. Does anyone have a recommendation or should I really consider putting together my own darkroom (the only space I have is the bathroom but I'd have to get electricity in there somehow) or perhaps one of those Jobo daylight processors. I have some experience, albeit from long ago, developing and printing black and white.

As for processing and printing, I am willing to pay up to 10 quid a roll but can't afford more than that. I have a salary below the national average and I have to live in London on that. I love Delta and want to shoot as much as I can while I can still buy it, but can't afford 30 quid a roll for d&p. For any recommendations I'd be immensely thankful.

2. mattie

mattie Well-Known Member

Sorry, can't really help on hte lab front, but darkroom stuff is dirt cheap so it mightn't be too difficult to set something up - easily inside the £100 mark will get you up and running with some reasonably decent stuff. What your flatmates/partner has to say about you taking over the bathroom is a different matter........

3. tommyhashbrown

tommyhashbrown Well-Known Member

I know of a cheap darkroom for hire in London if you'd like the details

It's about 2.50 an hour (including stop and fix!)

http://www.tommyhashbrown.co.uk

4. tommyhashbrown