1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Web Sites of Interest' started by Matt88, Oct 23, 2018.

1. Matt88

Matt88 New Member

Hey everyone. I’m an amateur photographer and was struggling to find somewhere to showcase my work. Then I thought would people want a place to show their work and also to potentially sell their work for free?

Would you find a website like this useful? Basically lost your work and then sell it through a website. Or does this already exist?? Just a thought really.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Selling for free seems a bit of a contradiction.

Yes, there are sites where you can show your pictures and which come with built-in print sales. They probably take a commission. Otherwise the whole point of picture libraries is that what is there is for sale, usually with a range of licence options, and usually taking a commission.

3. Matt88

Matt88 New Member

Hi PeteRob, thanks for the reply. I meant you/me as the photographer can sell your work but the website doesn’t take a commission.

4. PeteRob

I think that is wishful thinking, but it is not unreasonable for them to charge for handling all the billing and delivery etc. I think the likes of Photobucket and Smugmug do and sales are probably coming to Flickr at some point. You can already make books from Flickr and sell on Blurb.

5. Matt88

Matt88 New Member

I could build a website that did this if you don’t think one exists??

6. Matt88

Matt88 New Member

I could build a website that did this if you don’t think one exists??

7. Geren