1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telephoto Lens for Sony A100

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by kentarran, Jan 9, 2008.

1. kentarran

kentarran Member

Hi,
    I've recently bought a Sony A100 DSLR camera. I want to be able to take pictures of birds and wildlife which, for obvious reasons, means that I will have to be quite some distance away from the subject.

I have little or no experience of determining the type of lens I ought to buy e.g. zoom/telephoto and F no./focal length etc. I am somewhat confused by the various types of lenses and brands that are available and, of course, the high prices of some of them.

Any advice that you may be able to provide me with, so that I can begin to capture some wildlife pictures, would be most appreciated.

Regards,
    Ken
    :D

2. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

What's your budget? A decent fast telephoto zoom is not going to be cheap...

3. fabs

fabs Well-Known Member

Yes, your budget will make a big difference. If you want to photograph birds, you will need quite a long focal length.

I have friends who do this and one of them uses digiscoping (Attaching a telescope to a camera) and another uses a Sigma 50-500mm telephoto, sometimes with a 2X teleconverter (Doubling it to 100-100mm). Neither of these options are inexpensive I'm afraid, the Sigma lens is around £700 + a couple of hundred more if you want the teleconverter. And of course you will need a decent tripod/monopod (If you haven't already got one). I'm afraid that, in this instance, the camera itself may be one of the cheapest items you buy.

Of course, if money is no object, go mad!!! ;)

4. kentarran

kentarran Member

I'd probably be prepared to go upto between £400-£500.

5. fabs

fabs Well-Known Member

There is also the Sigma 170-500 which goes for around £500.
    A 2X converter is actually £164 from Warehouse Express if you can stretch to a bit more!