1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tamron 17-55mm with tiny fungus

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by mac16, Oct 19, 2020.

?

Buy?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

100.0%
  1. mac16

mac16 New Member

Hello everyone!

I am in the hunt for a cheap used 17-55mm lens for my canon and i found this tamron one for 100usd but it has a tiny fungus on it (please see photo attached).

What do you think? Is it worth a buy? Im an amateur and i dont have a ton of money to spend but im also really scared it might spread to the cam body.

Any suggestions would be great :) thank you

Attached Files:

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

It looks a bit too close to the centre of the element for my taste. Damage to the edge of an element can safely be ignored but a patch like that, close to the centre, will affect the image to one extent or another.

3. IvorETower

IvorETower Little Buttercup

Personally ........ I wouldn't buy a lens with fungus in it unless I possessed the skills to strip it down and clean it out (which I don't).
    You've no idea how long the fungus has been there, how much more may be inside that you cannot see, how fast it will grow, what damage it may cause etc etc.
    I'm not yet aware of any way to kill off fungus inside a lens other than by opening it up and "treating" it.

What does this say about the way that the lens was handled and treated by its former owner/user?

There is a reason why lenses with fungus inside are cheap

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Personally, I wouldn’t buy a lens with fungus. It can spread to other lenses.

If it is very slight and you live in a dry sunshine state, UV can sometimes kill it off which means leaving the lens with sunlight passing through, and nothing flammable in the plane of focus. However, fungus does damage lens coatings. Whether that matters optically depends on where it is, as Andrew said.