1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Something for New Photographers

Discussion in 'AP Magazine Feedback & Suggestions' started by Brendan1980, Mar 4, 2012.

1. Brendan1980

Brendan1980 Well-Known Member

Hi,
    Loving the magazine, I'm learning a lot. As a complete Newbie though, I get confuse sometimes by the terminology. Maybe a section for absolute beginners would be good. Something that runs from the very start, explaining everything in laymans terms?

Keep up the good work.

2. beejaybee

beejaybee Marvin

The issue here is that a "beginners section" would need to restart & repeat at frequent intervals, which would quickly become boring, especially to those of us who think we know what we're doing. The last thing I'd want from AP is to degenerate into the sort of thing that many photo mags have become, where you can deduce the entire content except for the adverts from the publication date alone.

A short insert (seperate to the magazine proper) or perhaps a special undated issue published in parallel to rather than instead of the ordinary mag would however be worth considering.

3. Fen

Fen Well-Known Member

Hi Brendan,

They do already have something running, the "AP GLOSSARY" which is on the "AskAP" pages of the magazine.

4. photogeek

photogeek Well-Known Member

Why not do a beginners special, it could cover things like shutter speeds, aperture, ISO Raw v Jpg, focal length, focal length mulipliers (field of view) etc. Need not go into too much depth but give some examples and tips.