1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Softbox Oops! Advice appreciated :)

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by bexandmolly, Jan 3, 2020.

1. bexandmolly

bexandmolly New Member

Hi all, hoping you might be able to offer some advice.

Firstly, I'd like to mention that I am a complete beginner with photography and the equipment.

So basically I'm taking a lot of photos now of my dog as a she models the products I sell. She sits in front of a white wall with light coming from a window in front of her (Behind me from when I'm taking the photos). Quite a lot of the time I can struggle with the natural light if it's a dull day, so I thought it would be a good idea to get a softbox (as I've seen other people use).

So this Christmas I asked my dad for one. I linked him a few I liked the look of on Amazon and that had good reviews.
    He got me a Luxlight 80cm Octabox Softbox with Grid.

Now, on the photo on amazon it just looks like it comes with everything you need... I find out when opening it up today this is not actually the case - No stand, and no bulb.... and where does a bulb even fit!?

I look it up and turns out the bowens s-type fit means it needs some kind of studio lighting thing! Oh my goodness they are so expensive! I did not realise all this :( So just wondering if you could offer any advice - is there any cheaper alternative I can attach to it for the light? Or is there a budget studio light available? Also, what kind of stand would be able to support it? etc..

Any help greatly appreciated! Thanks you xx

Edit: I have come across a 'Godox SL 60W 5600K' with stand included for around £100 which is quite a lot cheaper than others I was looking at - would that work?

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member