1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sigma 35 mm 1.4 art lense

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by jelibeans95, Mar 27, 2021.

1. jelibeans95

jelibeans95 In the Stop Bath

So I just bought my new sigma lense, and the guys I bought I from recommended me to buy some filters with it. Are they really necessary with an art lense ? I’m a little new to this so please help me out ! And thank you :)

2. SqueamishOssifrage

SqueamishOssifrage Well-Known Member

If your camera is digital, the only filters of any use are a circular polarizer or a protection filter (UV or similar) but opinions vary as the their value. Just about every other filter can be emulated in software.

3. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

Filters=profit for the dealer.

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

People have mixed feelings about filters.

“Protection” - usually UV or plain - filters have some benefit if you are in a dusty or wet (especially sea spray) atmosphere and constantly wiping the lens to keep it clean. Some lens are not considered “weatherproof” without a clear filter fitted but that’s usually for pretty extreme conditions. Generally they don’t offer a lot of protection, they’ll break if you bash them, and a lens hood that has a bit of “give” in it is better able to absorb shock. A filter may reduce the efficiency of a bayonet lens hood because it brings the glass surface further forward so that it is less well shaded so there is more chance of flare. I used to always fit a UV filter as a hangover from film days where a skylight 1A filter was a fairly standard thing to have on the lens.