1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Serif Affinity Photo, AP Testbench article in issue dated 24.08.19

Discussion in 'Digital Image Editing & Printing' started by Chester AP, Aug 25, 2019.

1. Chester AP

Chester AP Well-Known Member

I've been using Photohop Elements 7 for nearly 10 years, and the only thing I need that it won't do easily is remove colour fringes on high contrast edge details. I have found a way to do this 'manually' with the 'replace colour' process, but sometimes it needs more than one attempt to do the job. But I only need this on a few images when I prepare them for printing.

So, after reading AP's review I downloaded the 10 day trail version and have found it very frustrating. Anything I want to do with the RAW file appears to force me to work with layers, and when I eventually got the 'defringe' to work (after a very tedious online 'tutorial'), the result looked exactly like the result I can get using PE7.

Also, if I open a DNG format RAW file, I cannot save it in the same format but only in Affinity's format. So I will be then unable to open it in PE7.

The fact that Affinity don't offer any PDF user manual (with an index) is another problem for me: the online 'tutorials' I've watched never appear to answer the specific query I have.

Has anybody else tried this software and been disappointed?

I should add that I very much appreciate Affinity's free trial because I won't be buying it, and have avoided spending £48.99.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Generally speaking raw converters are "non-destructive" and save their editing instructions separately. They usually use the term "export" to apply the edits to create an image file, but not another raw file. The editing structions are proprietary and not interchangeable between programs.

Learning likes this.
  3. PeteRob