1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rent a Lens ?

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Dave, Apr 8, 2000.

1. Dave

Dave Member

Hi,

I'm looking at purchasing a very expensive L series Canon lens. I would like to be able to rent one for a week to see if the focal length and quality is really what I'm looking for. I'd prefer to shoot several rolls of film with this too as I am going to be spending a lot of money on this lens (and I probably won't get the chance to spend this sort of money again). I'm not a Professional, but I am looking to buy a EF500 f/4L IS or the EF600 f/4L IS. I've spoken to several of my local camera shops and they don't rent lenses out for trial/testing, nor do they know any company who does.

I've been checking through the ads in AP for a while now, but can't see anyone advertising. Does anyone at AP have any names of companies that would rent a lens at a cost (of perhaps for free if you were to buy the lens after field testing) ? I'm really looking for a company in the south (hampshire/dorset) who I could contact.

Dave Burrows

2. 0

0 Guest

Hi Dave
    This is Mike. I have read your message. It is nice you want to get a L series lens and want to try it out. It is not likely that any camera shop would rent lens that are very expensive. And they would not give it to you for a free test not knowing if you were going to buy it or not.
    You can try out the EF 500mm and 600mm lens from Canon by contacting them but you have to be a professional photographer. I suggest you call them and talk to them. You may find you have to meet some requirements before trying out the lens. I suggest you read camera magazines that will give a good idea and that may help you decide what L series lens you want to get. I wish you well.

3. 0

0 Guest