1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Problem with formatting with Nikon D70

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Cromlix, Jul 30, 2018.

1. Cromlix

Cromlix New Member

Currently I am using memory cards that I have been using for the last 10 years. A problem has arisen with my Nikon D70 inasmuch as part way through taking pictures the camera stops working and advises me to format the card.Obviously if I do format the card I will lose all my pictures that I have taken on it.
    Do memory cards, as they age, give this problem?
    I would be grateful for any advice that you can give me.
    Thank you

2. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

Certainly there is a finite life in terms of read/write cycles for memory cards, and if you've been using them for 10 years, it could be that. Worth trying a new card to be sure - if that doesn't work, then I'm afraid it must be a camera fault.

3. Roger Hicks

Roger Hicks Well-Known Member

Mine stopped for a while, but recovered -- with the same cards! -- then I tried it again after it had been in a drawer for maybe a year and was wondering about getting rid of it. My guess is that the cards are marginal and that if I really want to continue using it I should buy at least one new card. I couldn't believe how expensive they are, though, as compared with SD cards, so I haven't yet; the more so as I don't really need it.

Cheers,

R.

4. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

5. Roger Hicks

Dear Andrew,

Yes, I wondered about that. Any recommendations as to make?

Cheers,