1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prime Lens - Worth it?

Discussion in 'Fujifilm Cameras' started by rhibop, Feb 1, 2020.

1. rhibop

rhibop New Member

I have been looking to get a new lens for my Fujifilm XT20. Everywhere I look online I see recommendations for Prime lenses but I wanted to know - are they worth it? I am an incredibly average photographer - I know the basics and mostly just take photos when I travel.

I currently have the 15-45 mm kit lens that came with the camera. I have been looking at the 23mm F2, 35mm F2, but also the 18-55mm F2.8-4.0. I largely take scenic travel shots, sometimes with one or two people in them. I love bokeh (who doesn't?) and my main frustration previously has been not being able to get enough of a scene into a shot.

Can anyone shed some light on what they'd recommend? Is it worth getting a prime lens, or would it be better to just invest in a good zoom lens? Or, with a basic level of photography, is the 15-45mm kit lens totally fine?!

Done_rundleCams likes this.
  2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome, I'd say that, if you don't know, that is answer enough unless retail therapy is important to you :)

I use primes when I specifically want that focal length. Otherwise zooms are good enough for me and the Fuji zooms are very good. In my Canon (FF) system my primes are 24 mm (as a shift lens for architecture), 100 mm for macro and then it is long telephotos. In my Fuji system I just use zooms. I haven't any XC lenses, only XF, but generally I understand the difference is in build quality (XF more likely to bounce when dropped) rather than much optically. If you want to get more in shot then the XF 10-24 is good. I have the 10-24, 18-55 (which was a kit lens) and a 55-200. I'll probably buy the 16-80 when there is an offer on it because I find the 18-55 too limited.

3. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member