1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Perken, Son & Rayment - Optimus 10*8 lens

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by Peter Ruotsalainen, Aug 30, 2020.

1. Peter Ruotsalainen

Peter Ruotsalainen New Member

Hello good folks,

New member here, i went to a flea market today, and found this seen equipment below, it´s some kind of field camera,i think, but as i am no expert i thought i´d ask the more knowledgable people here.

Asking also for possible history, age and valuation.. i have no clue about these things, seems victorian perhaps?

Cam1.JPG Cam2.JPG

thanks in advance all!

cheers,
    Peter

2. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member

Welcome Peter, sorry not a clue about your “find” but it looks interesting I shall be watching this thread to see what it really is, I hope.

3. gray1720

gray1720 Well-Known Member

The lens certainly looks Victorian/Edwardian - I think the tab sticking out of the top might be for a Waterhouse Stop - which is literally a hole punched in a metal sheet as a means of varying the aperture. Whether the rest of the camera is that age I'm afraid I have no idea.

ETA - see here: https://www.gracesguide.co.uk/Perken,_Son_and_Rayment

A swift Gurgle suggests they also made magic lanterns, so whether the lens was intended for the camera who knows?

4. neilt3

neilt3 Well-Known Member

It's certainly not Victorian , Uncle Victor or Aunty Vicky maybe !
    It's not a field camera , and as it is it's not even a 10"x8" camera .

What you have here looks to be a home made camera cobbled out of bits and pieces that someone found .

No doubt perfectly functionable , but not especially well made .
    Starting from the front the lens has it's details engraved on it .
    It's probably off an old plate camera , it's coverage is 10"x8" which is about 25.4cm x 19.8cm .
    It wouldn't fasten to a camera as it is with just some screwheads overlapping the rim of its screw mount .