1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Chat' started by DanielH, Nov 13, 2011.

1. DanielH

DanielH Member

Hi,

I have just ready some early reviews regarding the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1.

As I am quite new to photography can anyone clarify whether the DMC-GX1 will be a better a camera than the DMC-G3.

Thanks,
    Daniel

2. Zou

Zou Well-Known Member

Without knowing how you define 'better' - no. The G3 does several things the GX1 cannot (articulated screen, EVF etc), and the GX1 offers features the G3 doesn't (more direct controls etc).

You really should try them side by side in store, but first work out what features you really need and then try to 'use' the cameras in store as you would out and about. There's no benefit to having a technically 'better' camera if you can't get it to work the way you want effortlessly.

3. DanielH

DanielH Member

Thanks Zou.

I am currently using a DMC-FS6 so any of the two will be better. As I have gained a strong interest in photography I would like to upgrade.I will probably go for a mirrorless camera as I am not keen on carrying a chunky DSLR camera around. Having said that I find the DMC-G3 bigger than expected.

I did some research regarding mirrorless camera and so far am not really convinced of any of the cameras in this area (Nikon 1 J1, Lumix G3, etc.) Now that the GX1 will be released soon I was wondering if this might be the mirroless camera of choice?

4. BikerMike

BikerMike Well-Known Member

I have a GF1 and love it, but could not do any serious photography without the optional EVF, which I have. I think the same would go for the GX1, which then adds bulk and considerable cost to the package. If you are thinking of ever using a long lens on it, you will need the EVF. In which case a G3 is far more practical - in my humble opinion.

Regards, Mike

5. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member