1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Noob with Olympus OM-1 & 50mm f1.8 Zuiko lens

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by stollie, Feb 28, 2018.

1. stollie

stollie New Member

Hi all, I’m new to photography and so hoping that with some help from more experienced folk I can sort thru what seems to be a steep learning curve and learn to take a few good shots now and then.

I have a 70’s Olympus OM-1 with a Zuiko 50mm f1.8 lens which I’m hoping to learn to use, as well as learning to develop the film. Having read a little about film, I figure I’d start with Kodak Tri-X 400.

Right now, I can’t figure out where to start as far as using the aperture, shutter speed, and ISO settings to take my first few shots HAHA! HELP!!! From what I've read, those 3 settings need to change, depending on available lighting, movement (or lack) of the subject, and such.

Glad to be here, and very appreciative of any assistance.

Thanks,
    Noel

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

Quick start...
    1. Download the user manual here: http://www.butkus.org/chinon/olympus/olympus_om-1/olympus_om-1.htm and read it through carefully.
    2. Check you have battery in camera and that it is working
    3. Load film. Having closed the back wind on once. GENTLY turn the rewind knob clockwise and confirm it comes to a hard stop. Wind on once more while watching the rewind knob which should move anti-clockwise as you do so.
    4. Set the ISO rating on the meter knob (ISO is the same as ASA)
    5. Set the shutter speed to 1/125