1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nikon Gurus - Upgrade Help Please!

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Dudds, Jul 4, 2005.

1. Dudds

Dudds Member

Hi. I've been using a Nikon F65 for the past three years and have been getting some great quality results (28-70 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 Sigmas have clearly helped!). Most of the use has been for travel.

However, I have noticed that other cameras I've borrowed (Canons) have handled continous focus-tracking and some metering aspects better.

I'm planning on upgrading to either the F80 or F100 (at a push - cost is still scary). I don't fancy the move to digital as, although I work in the IT world, there's still too much computer based work with digital for my liking.

My question to experts out there is: For general travel / all round use, what significant advantages would the F100 give over the F80?

Thanks in advance.

2. TimF

TimF With as stony a stare as ever Lord Reith could hav

The F100 has a better autofocus module, so should be better in that regard. I don't think the F80 is a slouch though.

Nikon's blurb on these can be found at: F80, and F100.

You don't say if this purchase will be new or s/h, but if you can run to a used F5, it would be a significant step-up in many ways over the F100 (though there are a few areas in which the 100 is better, but that's simply because its a later model).

3. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member

With the F65 you have a built in flash, the F100 and F5 don't have that but the F80 does. Personally I don't rate built in flash on an SLR but it is one consideration.

4. 0

0 Guest

My F80 doesn't. Have I been swindled? :D

5. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member

The F80 brochure say different. There is definately a built in flash see page 30 of the instruction book.

6. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler