1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nikon D5300 Tripod, suggestions?

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Ethanace, Apr 11, 2014.

1. Ethanace

Ethanace Member

Hi everyone,

I'm still a huge photographer newbie! So I don't know what tripods my D5300 will fit in...

I've been scouring the interwebs and have decided I'd rather go for a tripod that's a bit more heavy-duty that I can 'trust' my camera to be in without it collapsing, toppling over, etc, even with a heavy 300m lens attached.

Does anyone have any suggestions for good tripods/brands and price range I'm looking at to get such a product? Would I be able to get a decent tripod for under £50 or is this unreasonable?

P.S - Is there a certain kind of tripod socket/bracket I need to be looking for that guarantees compatibility with the D5300? Just for reference so I can do a bit more shopping around for myself!

Please help!

Much appreciated

Thanks for the answers guys

2. dangie

dangie Senior Knobhead

Yes very unreasonable unless you are extremely lucky or buy second hand or off the back of a lorry..!!

Luckily tripods are one of the few photographic accessories which are pretty much universal. The screw socket on the bottom of the camera and matching screw on the tridod are the same thread on all cameras and tripods.

Roger Hicks likes this.
  3. Learning

Learning Ethelred the Ill-Named

4. Learning

A further thought. If you are use a tripod that allows the camera to vibrate slightly when you make a shot then for static subjects you can set a 1 second delay to occur between releasing the mirror and taking the picture. (d5 in the custom settings menu). Remember to reset this for normal use. In the past we have had people in the help forum who had set this delay and couldn't remember how to get rid of it. Also you can use remote release, either by a cable or by ML-3.

5. Ffolrord

Ffolrord Well-Known Member