1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nikon d3200 or Canon eos 600d?

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by toodle, Jun 17, 2012.

1. toodle

toodle New Member

I'm buying my first DSLR! I'm upgrading from an old Lumix bridge, which has served me well. The only brands I'm seriously considering are Canon and Nikon. Comparing technical specs is only useful for me up to a point, as I am a complete novice, so I need a camera that will take me through the learning process.

I've been dithering about camera models for ages, but if I make a decision in the next couple of days, I will get a pretty big family discount on whatever I buy. The eos 600d is a good deal at the moment, and I like the feel of it, but the 3200d has just arrived at the same price, and I'm feeling a bit seduced by megapixels. :D

I don't care about HD video and wifi and whatever else, I want good IQ and features that will help me take better photos, with more scope for creativity than I have now. I would also like to be able to print poster-size. (I've had surprisingly good results with large prints from an 8MP compact sensor, so maybe there isn't much difference between the two cameras I'm comparing now.)

I'm going to the shop for a hands-on trial and side by side comparison before I buy, but I don't have much time to think about it if I want to take advantage of a 20% discount!

Does anyone have any thoughts?

2. Snorri

Snorri Well-Known Member

I think the 3200 is more of an enterylevel camera compared to the 600D, but yes it is newer so it might be intresting to check them side by side. Another option would be the 5100 it is a great camera.