1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie here just saying hello

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by lanzalad, Aug 9, 2011.

1. lanzalad

lanzalad Member

well i've just got my self a canon 550D and joined this forum to see if it will help me with my new hobbie...

2. Artylarry

Artylarry Well-Known Member

Hi, im a newbie too so not much help but the guys seem friendly and helpfull here. Although critical which is fine with me.
    Keven

3. Chris Cool

Chris Cool Retired

Absolutely! :)

Welcome to the AP forums - enjoy!

4. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Welcome :)

Sounds like you are totally new to photography, is there something your keen to shoot? ie action, landscape etc.

5. LargeFormat

LargeFormat Well-Known Member

Usually only in the appraisal gallery, and that is what it is for.:D

6. Artylarry

Artylarry Well-Known Member

Yea, I meant the Appraisal gallery, its good advice. Meant it in the nicest way.

7. lanzalad

lanzalad Member

well i wouldnt say im totaly new to photography.

my 1st camera was a Pentax MX in the mid 70's when i was about 8 or 9 years old.

i learnt everything about the camera and used it all the time but the only thing was the cost of photo developing i just didnt have the money so i hung up my camera.

well 20+ plus years down the line and im back and it seems like a whole new world.

i do like landscapes and the weather, we i guess every day life too..

im hoping to get out and about this weekend.

i was just thinking about taking a walk around the city.

8. Tony Everett

Tony Everett Active Member

Hello and welcome :D

9. P_Stoddart

Hold on, hold on there. The maths does not work out. :D

It's 36 years since the mid 70s. So you must mean 30+. When did you hang up the MX?

So you must know a fair amount, the MX is all manual. Did you shoot slide or colour neg?

I cannot believe you have not touch a camera for 30 years. Really? :)