1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Newbie enters the room,

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Darren clay, Feb 4, 2019.

1. Darren clay

Darren clay New Member

Hello all, thanks for adding me to the forum.
    I've been a keen photographer for few years I own 2 dslr's and recently bought a mirrorless camera and as much as I like the feel etc of it, I don't think my pictures are as good as the DSLR!!
    I look fwd in reading your posts and hopefully join in too

peterba likes this.
  2. peterba

peterba Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum, Darren. Hopefully, you'll enjoy it here. :)

Which mirrorless camera did you get, and what is it that you find 'lacking' about it?

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  3. RogerMac

RogerMac Well-Known Member

Ditto from me. There is an ongoing low level debate here about the merits of the two systems so as much detail as possible would be interesting
    Thanks

4. beatnik69

beatnik69 Well-Known Member

Welcome Darren.

5. Terrywoodenpic

Terrywoodenpic Well-Known Member

There is no reason why the actual quality of results from a DSLR and a Mirrorless should differ, as the lenses and sensors and firmware are now pretty much identical. However there are differences in the viewfinder and focus mechanisms which certainly give a difference to the handling and perceptions.

There are greater differences between the speed of acquiring focus between various DSLRs and various Mirrorless models, than between the two styles of camera. But slightly fewer Mirrorless cameras have achieved the top speeds.