1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

New to me - an Eos 5DS

Discussion in 'Canon Conflab' started by Malcolm_Stewart, Sep 9, 2020.

1. Malcolm_Stewart

Malcolm_Stewart Well-Known Member

Well, it arrived early this morning, and although I've been using Canon SLR bodies since 1995, and DSLRs from around 2003 (an Eos 10D), it took me around 80 minutes before I had removed the previous owner's personalisation. It now feels and works like my other Canon DSLRs. It wasn't that personalised, but it was in ways that could easily interfere with my "just purchased" assessment - and in ways that I've never bothered with or knew that I needed. I'm currently trying to understand why it was more affordable than an Eos 5D Mark IV. So far, I do like its quiet shutter, and it's my first full-frame body since my Eos 5D Mk II bought in 2011.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

I've got one. I got fed up waiting for the 5D iv to ship so I bought the 5Ds. I was also concerned that the pound would dive with Brexit and all the prices double. When the 5Div arrived it cost £1000 more than the 5Ds so I was quite chuffed. I think there was a lot made of the 5DsR which had a price premium and cast a bit of a shadow over the 5Ds but to be quite honest any increase in "resolution" over the 5Ds isn't of the slightest interest to anyone producing prints less than a couple of metres across. I'd rather have the moire protection of the anti-alias filter.