1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Medium format advise please.

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by trinity, Oct 5, 2006.

1. trinity

trinity Well-Known Member

I posted just recently about the Hasselblad 205fcc I had just bought, or thought I did, but on arrival at the shop I was disappointed it had been sold. I was looking to buy a mf camera for experience./ I will mostly be using it for some portrait work, landscapes and to try some architeture. I have read some good reports on the 205Fcc but most people seem to have gone for the 503cw amongst Bronica's etc. I am not sure what I am asking really. I have a budget of £1600.00. What would you go for and why.

Kevin

2. SteveEM

SteveEM Well-Known Member

Hi,

As a former pro, I see very little point is spending anywhere near that amount of money for your first medium format camera when they are so cheap now. Many many pro's do not use Hasselblad since the square format means in effect the usable neg size is virtually the same as 645 when you print an oblong shape. Many pro's use the fantastic (but slightly large & heavy) Mamiya RB67 or RZ67, which gives a much larger neg size. The 6x6 format of Hassy is a bit neither 'fish nor fowl' I would buy either a 645 or 67 camera.

The Pentax 645 is superb also the Mamiya 67's mentioned above. Check ffordes website for prices.

cheers Steve.

3. Woolliscroft

Woolliscroft Well-Known Member

Like Steve, I much prefer the rectangular 6 x 7 format, but that is a matter of taste. The Mamiya RB/RZs are lovely on a tripod, but a bit bulky to use hand held or to lug around for landscape work. I use a Pentax 67II which looks just like a scaled up 35mm SLR.

4. Blad_the_paler

Blad_the_paler Well-Known Member