1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Macro lenses on Ebay

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by Skyclimber, May 8, 2007.

1. Skyclimber

Skyclimber Active Member

Hi everyone,

I've just recently bought an alpha 100 and this is my first time using an SLR camera.

I have the kit lens that came with it but would like to have a try at Macro photography of flowers etc in the garden.

I see on Ebay there are quite a few macro lenses available - some are kits of 4 lenses that mount on the kit lens I have. They cost roughly £12.

Has anyone any experience of using them and are they any good? To be honest, at that price I'm tempted to give them a go!

2. Fen

Fen The Destroyer

Are you on about Extension Tubes, not Macro lenses.

3. Skyclimber

Skyclimber Active Member

Not sure to be honest, but here's the link to it on ebay

4. Skyclimber

Skyclimber Active Member

Might help if I pasted the link properly!

Here it is again

5. Fen

Fen The Destroyer

Right, they're Close-Up Lenses

All they do is cut down the focal length of the lens you attach them to.

Personally I would recommend a proper Macro lens. Minolta used to make several good ones.

6. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

These are very cheap dioptre lenses in a filter mount to attach to the front of a lens. Don't bother they will not be satisfactory. Save your money towards a proper macro lens. The cheap Cosina 100mm Macro has had very good reviews despite it plastic construction. They appear on eBay from time to time.

7. Steve52

Steve52 Well-Known Member

I also own an Alpha A100.
    Both my Sigma zoom lens are macros, 28 - 80mm 1.35-5.6 and 170-300mm 1.4-5.6.
    The 170-300 cost about £150, though if you Google search, you may get it cheaper elsewhere or on e-bay.

Steve
    :)

8. Roger_Provins