1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for my first camera

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Berno99, Sep 5, 2020.

1. Berno99

Berno99 New Member

Hi All!

I am very very new to photography and I am looking for my first camera around £500. After lots of research and talking to different shops, I think I want to get a mirrorless camera.

I Want to get used to it first before spending big, it will mainly be for things like hiking, walking and some product shooting.

Been advised a few cameras but literally have no idea!

Olympus m!0 Mark III
    Sony A6000
    Canon M200

Anyone got any more recommendations or any advice on what to look for?
    Thanks

2. Chester AP

Chester AP Well-Known Member

It's easy to buy something that's well reviewed or currently fashionable. I think you need to consider the following questions before deciding what to buy.

1) Will you buy the camera body with the standard 'kit' lens, or perhaps buy the body and your first lens separately so that you can get a lens that might suit you better (see next question). You don't have to buy the 'kit' lens.

2) What type of pictures do you want to take? The 'kit' lens will usually be a zoom that ranges from a wide angle (but not a really wide angle) to a short telephoto (but not a very long telephoto). Also, the 'kit' lens will usually have a small maximum aperture, and sometimes not great optical quality, because it may have been made down to a price. For example, an 18-135 may suit you better than the 'kit' 18-55, or a prime lens (not a zoom) with a large maximum aperture might suit better if you want to do lots of work indoors without using a flash or tripod.