1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Leica Virgin, any suggestions welcome!

Discussion in 'Leica Camera Chat' started by T_Sargeant, Mar 22, 2011.

1. T_Sargeant

T_Sargeant Well-Known Member

Hello All!

This is my first time breathing the rarerified atmosphere of the Leica room, so I hope you don't find me too uncooth!

But seriously, for whatever reason I have a true hankering for a classic Leica. I used an M3 years ago and this is the camera I'd love to go back to, ideally with a collapsible lens.

I'm not sure what questions I have, but one of them is, how much do you think I should pay? What is the "going rate" for a user (rather than collector) M3 these days?

Anyway, I'm sure I'll have more to talk about at some point! But for now I'm just going to get the ball rolling...

2. photogeek

photogeek Well-Known Member

Welcome to the world of Leica a dangerous (expensive) move, that said they are wonderful cameras. As to which one that depends upon the type of photography and if you need a meter or not.

The three possibilities in my book are M3 (approx £600), M2 (approx £500) unmetered and M6 (approx £900) TTL Metered.

I would not go for an M4 as they are normally expensive an M5 as it is just wrong and the M6 is getting a bit old for a metered camera.

The M3 and M2 have different frameline and there are three versions of M6 TTL with 0.58, 0.72 (standard) and 0.85 magnifications on view finders and these again have different framelines. Then it comes to the realy pricey bit of glass.