1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

K10D vs. K20D vs.??

Discussion in 'Pentax Chat' started by oliver28, Mar 20, 2008.

1. oliver28

oliver28 Well-Known Member

Right. I've been researching digital cameras for 5 years and still haven't got a DSLR, I think it's time I said enough is enough and got one! I had reservations concerning the K10D's soft jpegs and noise levels, and maybe AF, but it seems to me that, without switching brands and ditching my Pentax film kit, I would have to pay a lot more to get anything better, and the current price of £360 is almost irresistible, me being on a student budget as well... I'm not sure the K20D is worth the extra.

I would be very interested to hear anything which you knowledgeable people are NOT happy with on your K10D's, and is it anything which waiting for the K20D would solve?

Just out of curiosity I had a play with a D300 today while I was waiting for Jessops to exchange a faulty printer :mad:, and while the IQ and AF may be the standard by which others are (currently) judged, it's just too big and fat, and from the test A3 prints I have made from both, the difference is very hard to spot. [Besides, it's a dreaded Nikon!] I take mainly landscapes and people, but aspire to wildlife so quality is the most important thing.

I wonder if you could clarify my mind - is this the time to jump?

Many thanks!

2. Monobod

Monobod Phantom of the forum

The K10D will probably not be available for much longer, so if you want a new one, now is the time to buy. There will probably be some good s/h ones available from those few who upgrade, but to be honest there is actually nothing I dislike about mine.