1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just converted to Kodak - no more Ilford for me!

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by robc, Apr 12, 2007.

1. robc

robc Well-Known Member

Ever since I started shooting mono I have been an avid Ilford user - must have got through stacks of HP5 and Delta 400. As I was happy I never thought of trying other emuslions.

But I have just got back my first roll of Kodak Tri-X 400 and thats it, I am converted. The tones and contrast and just superb and it outshines any mono film I have used to date. For me it produces results that are everything that mono should be about.

Admitedly I love contrasty film and it may be more suited to my style of photography (reportage, street, travel) than others, but for me it is perfection.

So, I am sorry Ilford, my faithful friend, but all good things come to an end (though I may keep a few rolls of HP5 in the bottom of the bag simply as it is so flexible.)

2. Barney

Barney Well-Known Member

I have a roll of Tri-X in my F80 as we speak so I'm keen to finish it off and see the results.

3. Mojo_66

Mojo_66 Well-Known Member

Tri X is fantastic agreed, but I could never desert FP4. I like the "bite". Another point is Ilford seem more committed to film in general than Kodak.

4. robc

robc Well-Known Member

Agreed - sad but true. And I admire Ilford for bouncing back the way they did and staying committed. If Kodak do pack in film, I will be a happy user of HP5 again, but for the time being I am stocking up on Tri-X.

What has really got me about Tri-X is the dark end of the grey-scale, it is fantastic.

5. Mojo_66

Mojo_66 Well-Known Member

I believe they've stopped doing Infra red, and I think they announced the end of Tri X a while back until the announcement resulted in increased sales! I like the contrast of it, and it is great with the darker tones as you say.

6. dyncoed

dyncoed Well-Known Member