1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

IS vs Non IS

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by AdamStockbridge, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Hi, im looking at buying the canon 70-200m f/4 L USM, only to realise that it wont come with IS. After looking up some reviews, alot of people are saying that for what i'll be using it for (sports photography) is that it wont be necessary. Im an amateur photographer, hence why im not buying a £2k+ lens. Im using a Canon 600D, so any help would be grateful, as would any recommendations for alternative lenses.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Get the IS version of the F4 it is very good. Also, for sport, although a lot heavier the F2.8 will focus a lot faster and costs less than £2k I believe. Supported on a monopod the weight is neither here nor there. Both will take a x1.4 converter.

3. I'd love a F2.8, but slightly out of budget. With the converter, will i have to have that to mount the lens on, or is it just a nice addition to have?

4. PeteRob

It is just an option. Depends on your sport as to whether 70-200 is enough focal length.

Not sure what you mean by mount. The converter goes between the lens and the camera, it doesn't have a tripod mount. The F4 itself doesn't come with a tripod mount but will take one - I swap the one from my 400 F5.6. A lens mount, which lets you have the camera/lens balanced at the centre of gravity on a monopod or tripod, is useful if you have to hold the camera "ready" for long periods.