1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the Amateur Photographer magazine online community.

Why not create an account and take advantage of this free resource.

Infrared landscape .

Discussion in 'Appraisal Gallery' started by Oleg2016, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Oleg2016

Oleg2016 Well-Known Member

infrared landscape .Kursk Russia July comp_ 2IMG_020021.jpg

Jeff Farkas likes this.
  2. RovingMike

RovingMike Crucifixion's a doddle...

I suspect the colour original looks better. Can't see what the IR is achieving here?

Oleg2016 likes this.
  3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi Oleg. I’m not good at judging infra-red, it isn’t something I do although my son likes it so much he had a 6D converted. The foliage looks a bit dark - usually it comes across as quite white in normal processing.

Oleg2016 likes this.
  4. steveandthedogs

steveandthedogs Well-Known Member

Bit underexposed, but like it otherwise.

S

Oleg2016 likes this.
  5. Oleg2016

Thanks ;):)! I really wanted to try it IR. My camera is not modified , CAnon 700D +filter Hoya 72 + tripod

6. Petrochemist

Petrochemist Well-Known Member

White is usual for 720nm & longer filters, this looks more like a 600nm filter.
    The normal post processing for these is to carry out some channel swaps to end up with blue skies & gold foliage. I personally usually stick to the colors SOOC or simply play with hue slider.
    I have to agree with @steveandthedogs it's slightly underexposed but a nice composition.

Oleg2016 likes this.
  7. Petrochemist

It's unusual to be able to get that much color from a 720nm on a non modified camera (especially Canons which tend to have very strong hot mirrors).
    Well done but beware - IR can be addictive!

Oleg2016 likes this.
  8. Oleg2016

Thanks!

9. steveandthedogs

Try using the 720nm on mono.

S

10. Oleg2016

Thanks! Black-white and Filter? Very interesting

11. RovingMike