1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm finally moving to Win 10

Discussion in 'Computer Related Help & Discussion' started by John Farrell, Jan 17, 2020.

1. John Farrell

John Farrell Well-Known Member

I've been using Windows 7 for 10 years, but with support ending (and the computer being 10 years old) I've dug into the pocket, and bought a new desktop, running Windows 10. I doubt, though, that the software I use for photo manipulation (an ancient thing called Arcsoft Photo Studio, that came with a Canon digital I bought in 2005) will work with Win 10. I need to replace this - very cheaply, or for free. Is GIMP any good?

I also have to get my Canon film scanner working with Win 10.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

GIMP is free so it costs nowt to try it. I just pay these days for Lightroom with Photoshop on the computer but unused.

Windows and scanners can be problematic. I pull my hair out trying to get my PC to talk to my scanner while my Mac works just fine. Try vuescan. The demo is free and it costs not a lot.

The main thing with Win 10 (and it’s precursor Win 8.1) is beware of the monthly updates. There is nothing more annoying than being caught by an update installing when you need the computer. Mine updated yesterday. It’s always the same day of the month.

John Farrell likes this.
  3. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

Another vote for Vuescan.

I was running W7 and despite me always clicking NOT to load W10 it did so anyway (quite a number of people had the same occur). I lost patience with it and ended up buying an iMac, which took a while to become accustomed to, I still have the Windows 10 machine but I only use it if I need to retrieve something from it. I found the constant updates and deleting of printer drivers absolutely infuriating, along with a couple of other things.