1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi From Kent

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by lardenr, Jul 23, 2011.

1. lardenr

lardenr Member

Hi, just joined up, as want to get back into photography more. I am a newbie to the Digital SLR, as I'm just going to purchase one. Although I used to be into the old 35mm Slr's.

I have a bid going on with Ebay at the moment for a Canon EOS 350D, but I don't expect to win, in which case I want to purchase a new one. My Budget is 300.00 and I have in idea a Nikon D3000(Amazon) or a Sony A290(Jessops). Any recommendations on this?

Thanks

2. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Hi back. :)

What 35mm film SLR have you used?

I suspect that either of the dSLR you have listed will do the job nicely.

I not sure about the 350D because it is only 8MP. I assum it has more than just the kit lens I hope. :)

3. lardenr

lardenr Member

Hi,

It was years ago, but I had a Russian Zenith from when I was a Kid that my dad bought me, and years later my Parents had bought me a Centon. Not two of the biggest names, but used to take very good photo's.

The camera I have bid on as a 18-55mm lens, the same as the other 2 that I may get.

4. P_Stoddart

Same here. Had the Zenith then moved a MTL3/5 later. Last film camera was the Pentax MZ-5.

I hope you have not bidded to high for the 350D. I think the A290 14MP is abit more useful because of post shot cropping.

Personally I like the new CSC cameras. Aiming to get a Panasonic G in the future like say the G10.

But the dSLRs you have picked will all do the job.

Wasn't your old Centon a minolta mount? Sony dSLRs use minolta lenses they bought their technology.

Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  5. lardenr

lardenr Member

No, I havn't bidded too high for the Ebay bid, which is why I think I will lose the bid.

I think if I lose the bid, then I will go for the Sony, and pick it up from my Local Jessops.