1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Hi from complete beginner.

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Daniel Waghorn, May 17, 2018.

1. Daniel Waghorn

Daniel Waghorn New Member

As the title state's I am a complete beginner with a canon 450d which I acquired cheaply for £50, it came with a 17-85mm lens which unfortunately was faulty the reason it was so cheap, anyhow I have had this repaired and have been out with it to Blackpool zoo, I shot everything in auto mode using manual focus as I am still trying to learn the settings, while I took some good picture's obviously the zoom range on the lens was to short so I felt I needed to take things up a notch. As I'm typing we are getting ready to go to the Welsh mountain zoo, I have managed to acquire a 75-300mm lens yesterday and I was wondering what settings I should use as I want to get away from auto mode and start learning, I was thinking of starting in program mode but from there I'm stuck any help and advice will be greatly appreciated.

2. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

Firstly, stop using manual focus. Auto focus is one of the most reliable features of modern cameras as long as you use the right mode (usually, single point focus).

I use Av 90% of the time, it lets me pick the aperture I care about for artistic reasons, and then the camera handles the shutter speed (and in my case, the ISO). However, you can't entirely ignore those settings, because if I've chosen f/8 and that results in a shutter speed which is too slow, then I might get blur I didn't want.