1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi everyone I need advice

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Sean wilson, Feb 26, 2020.

1. Sean wilson

Sean wilson New Member

Hi I’m a newbie photographer and I’m mainly interested in wildlife and sports photography and I’ve seen an almost new canon 7d mkii with under 100 actuations for £650 would it be a worthwhile purchase as it will be my main camera for a few years to come thanks in advance for all your help.

2. beatnik69

beatnik69 Well-Known Member

Sounds like a bargain to me, considering it is £1379 brand new.

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

If you get on with Canon cameras, that is probably the best starting point. Only a service centre or a hacker can get the number of shutter actuations on a Canon, it isn't published.

As with all used equipment there is a benefit from buying from someone who will give a guarantee. The big shops all sell s/h equipment if you check LCE, WEX, MPB, FFORDES you'll get an idea of current price with at least a 6 month guarantee.

4. Learning

Learning Ethelred the Ill-Named

5. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

6. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

This is from Astro Photography Tool for my 7d2

upload_2020-2-27_15-6-24.png

Looks legitimate to me based on my Lightroom folders.

7. PeteRob

I stand corrected.

8. Sean wilson

Sean wilson New Member

Thanks so much for the advice folks greatly appreciated. So will the 7D mkii be a good choice for now and the foreseeable future?

9. Snorri

Snorri Well-Known Member

Yes, the 7D both the original and the MK II are great cameras. Pair it with ether the excellent EF-S 15-85 (my go to lens) or the all mighty EF-S 17-55 f2.8 arguably the best all around lens for APS-C camera and you will be set for the foreseeable future.
    I do agree that buying from a reputable dealer that gives warranty would be a good idea.

10. PeteRob