1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey guys, need some help please if you would be so kind :)

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by carlsworth, Jul 16, 2015.

1. carlsworth

carlsworth Member

Hi everyone
    I'm fairly new to the camera world and only use the camera to take photos of tattoos I have done, and need some advise
    I currently have a Sony A200, with DT 1.8 36mm lens, and while its fairly good for what I do with it, I have been seeing/hearing reviews for Cybershot RX100
    The A200 is old a this point, and just doesn't seem as crisp as I would like it to be
    I am thinking about selling the a200 and getting the RX100, as it is within my budget, and seems to be an excellent camera according to many reviews
    But....is the image quality BETTER than the A200???
    And would it be worth the change?

2. Snorri

Snorri Well-Known Member

That depends on what you are using your pictures for, Yes the RX is an excellent camera and would out gun A200 in most areas, but the 10mpix of the A200 should be more than enough unless you are doing very big prints.
    I guess what I am saying is that yes it would be better but would you notice it? If I were you I would go to a shop, take a compatible memory card with you and take few shots the way you are planing to use it, get a feel for the camera and then you could look at the pictures at home and compare to the pictures from the A200.

3. carlsworth

carlsworth Member

Hey Snorri, thanks for the reply

My big issue with the A200, is the sharpness of the pics-
    they seem a little soft to me, and see a difference in the rx100

I'm far from an enthusiastic photographer, but need crisp quality images for my tattoo work portfolio

I know the lighting makes a big difference, but CANNOT take photos anywhere other than in the studio - which I upgraded the fluorescent lights recently to 6500k which seems to have helped a little