1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

Help needed to use Sigma 105mm Macro lens

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by Darth Vader, Aug 4, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Darth Vader

Darth Vader Active Member

Hi!

I have just brought a Sigma 105mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro lens and I have 2 questions as I have never used a macro lens before.

1. What is the difference between OS 1 and 2?

2. Can someone explain what these mean…...Full – 0.45m – 0.312/0.45m

Thank you for your help.

2. MJB

MJB Well-Known Member

1)OS1 corrects for all lens shake, OS2 for vertical movement only.

2)it's the focussing distance range. Set on 0.312-0.45m means the lens wont hunt for focus outside this distance.

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

What he said.

Lens based image stabilised systems have either 1, 2 or 3 modes. Mode 1 stabilises the lens to up/down and left/right movement. Because some people like to follow movement by panning, and panning is usually left/right, mode 2 disables this stabilisation so that the IS isn’t fighting the panning movement. Mode 3 is very recent - it is the same as mode 1 but IS only activates when the shutter is released and not on the half-pressure used for focussing.