1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Needed Please: CDS Light Sensor

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by Thomas Keidan, Nov 18, 2017.

1. Thomas Keidan

Thomas Keidan Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, my new Olympus 35 RC recently arrived with a slightly too small lens cap. When I was trying to put it on I noticed It may have rubbed against the CDS light cell which is on the side of the camera lens. Do I have to be super fragile around the CDS cell or does it not matter if it get's scratched or anything like that? I'm a complete novice so I apologise if this is a stupid question.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Either the meter works or it doesn't. I doubt rubbing the cover would do much to it unless you were using a permanent black marker pen. I'd suggest to check the reading against something else just to be sure it is on calibration.

3. Thomas Keidan

I suspected so, I haven't put a battery in the camera yet but was worried that me scratching it in any way (not that I have) would affect it's operation in any way... do I not need to worry about it?

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

I can't tell you not to worry if you are prone so to do :)

Best thing is to put a battery in it if it needs one and test it out. Cameras are not so delicate that they fall apart at a touch but it's best not to throw them across the room.

5. Thomas Keidan

Hi Rob, yes I am very prone to worrying! The camera in question has been recently refurbished so everything should work ok. I just noticed that when I was putting the lens cap on that the CDS light meter is very much in the way. I was worried that a scratch to the coating may affect it's abilities in some way! But from what you're saying I don't think that's the case.

6. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member