1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help I am new to DSLR

Discussion in 'Panasonic Chat' started by kairos, Dec 9, 2006.

1. kairos

kairos Member

Hi,
    In the long and distant past I had been a keen reader of AP but lapsed once I gave up SLR’s in favour of a compact digital point and shoot cameras. Now picking up this weeks AP, I notice the world has moved on .

I am thinking of buying a Panasonic Lumix Z50. Could some one fill me in on the following.

Can the lens be removed ? (has it a bayonet fitting or what ever?)
    Is it wise to keep a spare battery or would you just charge it once a week?

I take it that the camera can be used just as you would an SLR i.e. manually turn the focus ring .
    Set the aperture and speed. Or switch to auto mode and let the electronics do all the work.

Lastly my Canon A70 uses a compact flash card for storage does the Lumix use a similar system.
    Any and all advise would be appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Richard.

2. Alex1994

Alex1994 Well-Known Member

3. kairos

kairos Member

Hi Alex,
    Thanks for putting me right I have not seen a Lumix FZ50 in the flesh so was not aware that the lens was not removable. But I believe it will take filters etc.

Are you looking through the lens when you are focusing the camera using the eye piece or are you looking at a lcd of what the lens in seeing?
    Maybe the FZ50 is not an SLR but I imagin it has the feel as an SLR with the same manual controls as an SLR. Scrolling through menues as I have to with my Canon A70 is not my idea of photography.

Regards
    Richard.

4. Alex1994

Hi Richard!

I've never actually used one of the 'SLR-style' digicams, but the view through the eyepiece of the Lumix FZ50 will be via an internal LCD screen (similar to a camcorder).