1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuji RAW converter

Discussion in 'Fujifilm Cameras' started by Bazarchie, Jan 5, 2018.

1. Bazarchie

Bazarchie Well-Known Member

I am new to the Fuji X system and currently shoot in RAW and Jpeg. With my Canons I only shoot RAW and I use LR for converting and editing. For the type of photos I take on the Fuji, the Jpegs are fine, however if I do want to convert RAW files is LR up to the task? There is a lot of negative comment on LR and Fuji RAW but this may be out of date.

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

LR is good. I think when the X series first came out it did not handle the files very well but it does fine now. I have seen it said to put the detail slider to 100% in sharpening to change the algorithm used. I tend to put it at 80% but I don't use high amounts of sharpening. I just use raw, same as for my Canons, as I see no point to keep jpgs when I can make them.

The "best" converter is probably SilkyPix - a cutdown version is available free from Fuji - but after LR it feels like a pig of a program to use. I had a trial of the full version and the results are very good.

There are some ambassadors for OnOne but I didn't think their 2017 version did a very good job with RAF. I bought the 2018 edition to see how my wife would get on with it - it has a magic eraser tool which is impressive at cloning with intelligent fill - but I found myself filling 4 crash reports ( it actually crashed 5 times but one restart didn't trigger a report) in the first 2 hours after installing it on Win 8.1. Not very impressed.

3. Bazarchie

Bazarchie Well-Known Member

Thanks Pete