1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Football Photography

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Ryan Foulkes, Jun 19, 2020.

1. Ryan Foulkes

Ryan Foulkes Member

Hi all, hope you're keeping safe during this difficult time.

I'm a new budding photographer just starting off, currently i have a Nikon Coolpix P1000, so far i have been capturing mostly aviation and i am thinking of upgrading to a dslr to start up with football photography to get higher quality images. Just wondering what cameras/lenses you recommend for this? I have recently been made redundant so i would be looking to be able to take photography further and eventually the aim is to do it for a living. Price range would be around £500 or below.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Ryan

2. pixelpuffin

pixelpuffin Well-Known Member

I’m no expert
    My only experience is over the past 5yrs photographing my sons football matches
    I started out with a 20yr old canon 100-300 usm F4.5-5.6
    As I no longer had a body I bought a used canon 5d 12.8mp
    That was it! I used that for 18mths until I upgraded to a used canon 7d 18mp.
    Later I upgraded the lens and only very recently have I upgraded my camera body.
    In all honesty I would happily pick up the old 5d Mk1 and 100-300 usm and use it for football. Yes, my current set up is much more refined BUT back then I made do with what I could afford and the images I got are still good enough for me.
    The biggest difference as I’m sure you know between compact and dslr is shutter lag.
    Just remembered I did cover a entire football match using the Panasonic lumix tz70 admittedly it was used as a video camera...but it exceeded my expectations by a huge margin.

3. RogerMac

RogerMac Well-Known Member