1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

EOS 1

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by daveproctor, Apr 23, 2000.

1. daveproctor

daveproctor Member

I have an EOS 50E and have seen a secondhand EOS 1 for £550 in excellent condition with 12 months warranty.

The camera is lovely to use but I am new to this and concerned that, with it being an older design to the 50E, the metering and focusing may not be as good. I know it only has one focusing point and no eye control but this isn't a concern to me, it's more an issue of speed and accuracy.

Could someone let me know their opinion as I'm rather taken with the EOS 1!

2. 0

0 Guest

£550 seems quite expensive, I have recently looked at one which I was very interested in, for £350 and it was in what the magazines would describe as exc condition with a 6 month guarentee.

dan.guilliatt@talk21.com

3. 0

0 Guest

Hi Dave

This is Michael. The EOS 1 is a good camera, I have seen one and held it in my hand long ago. The camera the first professional camera that Canon made. To give you a short history.It was released in 1989. Canon asked some photographers what kind of camera they whated. They listen to them and built the first automatic pro camera, that had Cross BASIS focus system, 4 E.A modes, 1/8000 a second, centre weight average, partial metering 5.8% and fine spot metering 2.3%.
    2.5 frames a second from the camera and with booster ( 8 battery pack) 5.5 frames a second. Good LCD screen to display information. 6 zone metering.