1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Echo....

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by JohnW, Nov 27, 2000.

1. JohnW

JohnW Active Member

2. keyser

keyser New Member

......ed

hey.
    i just got myself a 505si. whats your gear? im still new at this and im trying to learn everything i can.

3. JohnW

JohnW Active Member

Re: ......ed

Hi,

I'm using an 800si outfit now, having returned to photography after a couple of years break. It's a brilliant camera and is keeping me very occupied!

www.johnwingfield.co.uk

4. Surfin' Fella

Surfin' Fella New Member

I've got a X-9 and its a very good camera, well i think so!! have you got any tips on black & white film? I'm trying Jessops 400s at the moment just to get the hang of it but have you any tips? I've heard Kodak T-Max is a decent film.

Thanx
    Surfin'

5. JohnW

JohnW Active Member

I tend to use TriX or Delta 100, depending on the subject, but I have tried TMax and it looked rather good to me (but what do I know?!) One thing to try is using a yellow filter, it gives nice contrast for portraits. I doubt you'll ever go far wrong with TMax though, and doing your own D&P will give you more benefit than anything else IMHO.

TTFN...

<A HREF="http://www.johnwingfield.co.uk">http://www.johnwingfield.co.uk</A>

6. BigWill

BigWill Gorgeous oversensitive Nikon-loving cream puff

Great stuff guys, but this is supposed to be a Minolta page, so how the heck did we get sidetracked about B&W developing? Anyway, to get back to the Minolta theme, I used to have an X700 and thought that it was probably the best manual focus camera ever made. Unfortunately old age and failing eyesight forced me to join the AF stable. So why the heck didn't Minolta upgrade the X700 by giving it a better flash sync speed and higher top shutter speed to bring it into the new millenium?