1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(E-Mount To EF) Sony A7S ii with Cannon EF 24-105mm f/4

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by David Clement, Feb 25, 2017.

1. David Clement

David Clement New Member

Hello, I'm a Film Student.

And I'm going to buy a Sony A7S ii with a Cannon EF24-105mm f/4 as it was recommend for shooting film especially with low light.

But I was also told I would need an E-Mount Sony To Cannon, yet due to my reduced knowledge I have little idea of which one is the cheapest/right one.

If anyone knows I would greatly appreciate any answer.

Btw this are the websites I’m planning to buy from if anyone knows a better one please let me know.

http://dronesforless.co.uk/cameras/sony-alpha-ilce7sm2/b/a7s-ii-mirrorless-digital-camera-body-only/
    https://www.mpb.com/en-uk/used-equi...es/canon-ef-24-105mm-f-4-l-is-usm/sku-646512/

Thank you so much.!

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

You mean video it is a digital not a film camera. I'd think you need to be careful. Most cases of using a lens not made for a particular system is you lose autofocus and there can be all sorts of compatibility issues. Also there are 2 (3 if you count the mkii) 24-105 lenses from Canon.

3. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

At the moment the best Sony for video is the a7S II which is E mount camera.
    So choose a lens from Sony's E mount range not from another make with a converter.

4. peterba

peterba Well-Known Member

Firstly, I have never heard of the two companies, from which you intend to purchase, so I'm unable to offer any advice on them - other than the usual caveat emptor. If it looks to good to be true, it probably is.